Tear and Flame

God holds me head and shoulders
    above all who try to pull me down.
I’m headed for his place to offer anthems
    that will raise the roof!
Already I’m singing God-songs;
    I’m making music to God.

       Psalm 27:6The Message (MSG)

 
The music was thunder and joy. Lightning bolts of happiness and praise, foot-stomping, dance-shouting, good-feeling singing from the soul. ~ Etta James
It is watching the flame
rising from a blackened wick,
the ripples of air pulsating above
blown by the pipes as the organist
strikes a chord that gets caught.
 
It is the water that never reaches it,
trickling, blurring the music
as I struggle to use my vocal chords.
 
It is the joy in knowing 
that tear and flame are worship too. 
~ LTD
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

