Conversations

A child can ask questions that a wise man cannot answer. 

     ~ Author Unknown

Read it for yourself in Scripture:

“As I live and breathe,” God says,
    “every knee will bow before me;
Every tongue will tell the honest truth
    that I and only I am God.”

So tend to your knitting. You’ve got your hands full just taking care of your own life before God.

     ~ Romans 14:11-12

     It is true that we have our hands full if we only “tend to our knitting” and take care of our own life.  Sometimes, however, it is easy to notice other people’s craft.  About a month ago, I sat behind a couple of friends who started their conversation with the pleasantries.  They were not soft spoken.  As we continued to order and eat our lunch, the women took relatives and ripped them apart.  They diagnosed, described, passed judgement, condemned, offered their sentence and moved on to the next. There was true concern for one, but no solution was reached.

     Two weeks ago, I sat in a crowded restaurants with hundreds of other people, and in the company of writers.  The table next to us was also a company of writers, seasoned, more often published, known to each other.  Their conversation was a little louder because of the environment. I caught snippets as my friends and I ate our dinner, talked about the conference.  Their conversation was all about the craft of writing, the process of putting books together, the discussions with their publishers.  

     I was struck by the level of their conversation, their obvious caring for one another.  And yes, I am talking about both conversations.  I loved the way I felt after hearing the second conversation.  I felt remorseful after the first, because all too often I have the same feelings about some of the family.

     My take-away was, keep the family conversations in private if possible and seen to heighten the level of my own conversation.  Both conversations were a part of moving forward, I felt one was more insular, and the other motivational.

I found some new goals. And I know better why I love being around children so much.

Lord, praise you for your steadfast love, your unconditional love, your renewing spirit, the way you lead me.  Help me to continue to “knit, “paying heed to every stitch, each row, and the garment I hope to create.  Thank you for making the imperfections beautiful in your eyes.

Because of Him,

Linda

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

