Friend and Stranger

To whoever invented fantasy, redwood trees, and apple pie for breakfast: well done.   
 
       ~Dr. SunWolf
 
Make this your common practice: Confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you can live together whole and healed. The prayer of a person living right with God is something powerful to be reckoned with. Elijah, for instance, human just like us, prayed hard that it wouldn’t rain, and it didn’t—not a drop for three and a half years. Then he prayed that it would rain, and it did. The showers came and everything started growing again.
 
       ~James 5:16-18
     I can count on one hand the people to whom I can confess my sins.  And then there is that perfect stranger.  The one who can hear, but doesn’t know any of the wronged, any of the family, any of the details.  They just listen, sometimes they offer advice and they move on. And so do we.  Sometimes, that is all that is necessary, confessing and moving on.  That is when the friend comes in.
     When you revisit the same sin, the same wound, the same situation for the upteenth time, the friend is there to pray with you, for you, over you, loving you the entire time.
 
Lord, thank you for my few, the few ears you have given me that truly hear me and love me as you would.  Bless them right now.  Please bless those strangers with whom I have imparted hurt, sin, wrongdoing for I know that you were there in them and heard me and forgave me, and still do.
 
Because of Him,
LInda
Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Poetry

Leave a Reply

