Rejoice Evermore!

A daughter is a little girl who grows up to be a friend.  


        ~ Author Unknown
 
 

Rejoice evermore.

Pray without ceasing.

 In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.

     ~ 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

     I have been privileged to be a part of my daughters’ lives.  Thankful to be able to observe them in their work environments, with their friends, in their church family.  They inform, teach and love me and they allow me to do the same in return.  It is a joy.  They have grown into intelligent, beautiful, talented, compassionate women.

     My younger daughter has been especially appreciated over the past few weeks.  We interred my father in law, interred the mother of a dear friend, negotiated some rough waters.  All through these occasions, she spoke wisdom, demonstrated mercy, was an exemplar for the life I want to lead.  

     She shared a prayer at a congregational dinner last night that was a sincere plea to bless our pastor and his wife as they enter into a season of sabbatical.  It was grace-full, it even had a literary arc!

     In reading the scripture for today, I realize that if all I do for the rest of my days is follow that advice, I will never have time for insecurity or fear.  I will be too busy singing, praising, and giving thanks. Today I will start by praising God for my daughter, for my daughters, for my husband, for my church family.

Because of Him,

Linda

Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Poetry

Leave a Reply

