Splinters and Roads

The road that is built in hope is more pleasant to the traveler than the road built in despair, even though they both lead to the same destination. 
     ~Marian Zimmer Bradley
 
And be ye kind one to another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God for Christ’s sake hath forgiven you.
~ Ephesians 4:32
 
     It is so hard to remember to be kind to someone when they have just dealt you a low blow. My father had just passed away. It was an early Easter that year, and he passed on St. Patrick’s Day.  A relative turned to me and said, “Warren has died, Warren is risen, Warren will come again.” She had a grin on her face.  I swallowed my thoughts, my emotional response, and bit my tongue.  It may have been true, but I could not go there.  He was not even buried yet!  I couldn’t rally.  All I could think of was how flip that sounded and then, unkindly, what I’d say when her dad passed.  That was 1989.
     In 2014, her dad passed.  She stayed by his side, often around the clock in the hospital.  When he passed, I cried.  I had a memory of what her remarks were so long ago, and my kindness was in saying nothing. And so far past when I thought the kindness was called for.  I love God’s timing, God’s mercy toward me, God’s tempering of my anger, distilling it, removing it, replacing it.
 
Today, give your splinters to the Lord.  They will pop out when it is time, and hopefully without too much pomp or circumstance.  Opt for a road built in hope.  It was the gift I received, certainly not one I ever thought I’d see.
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Poetry

Leave a Reply

