Shhh! Speak up!

Good judgment comes from experience, and often experience comes from bad judgment.
 
              ~ Rita Mae Brown
 
 But none of these things move me, neither count I my life dear unto myself, so that I might finish my course with joy, and the ministry, which I have received of the Lord Jesus, to testify the gospel of the grace of God.
            ~ Acts 20:24
 
     There were so many times this past weekend when I could have opened my mouth… and did not.  I “kept my own counsel” as my mother used to say.  I thought twice and spoke only when I was sure it was absolutely the right thing to say.  
     I am not talking about general conversation.  I am talking about times in a conversation when the speaker knew so much and was speaking out of their experience.  In these few cases, my experience was different and I have known a different outcome.  Or, opening my mouth would not have resulted in anyone’s edification.  So I did not.
     This is not an easy place for me. Being quiet when I thought I had something to share.  But the Lord seems to be teaching me a whole new way.  Waiting to be asked, waiting to be seen, waiting to be heard.  Oh, I am not a shy person, but, I am used to being somewhat invisible in certain circles.  I want to finish my course with joy.  Perhaps with the sounds of the leaves rustling, the trade winds blowing, a single engine airplane humming through the beautiful day.
     Today, wait for His bidding to share your amazing opinion/experience/wisdom, and for you amazing introverts, tell someone how you feel, what you think, how you know.
Come and Fill Our Hearts With Your Peace
 
     Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Poetry

Leave a Reply

