Excuses

Several excuses are always less convincing than one.
 
       ~ Aldous Huxley
 
Bless your enemies; no cursing under your breath. Laugh with your happy friends when they’re happy; share tears when they’re down. Get along with each other; don’t be stuck-up. Make friends with nobodies; don’t be the great somebody.
 
   ~ Romans 12:15
 
     The people that drive me the craziest are those that ______ . (Fill in the blank.) For me it has to do with consistency.  When someone is inconsistent, I never know if I can count on them, I never know if they will be there for me, and every insecurity I have acts like weeds on miracle gro.  When they tell me they cannot make it to an event, doubt often clouds my reception of an answer.  I’d much prefer to hear “I am sorry, I just can’t make it.” than, a list of excuses.  
     It took me years to stop thinking that my excuse wasn’t good enough to warrant not going to something.  And then I began to listen to people I admire.  They simple said, “Thank you so much for asking, I’m afraid I just can’t make it.”  My dad was instrumental in helping me along with this strategy although he has been gone for twenty five years.  He was always telling me to look to people I admired for examples no matter what behavior I exhibited, or wanted to exhibit.  It made me look to him even more.  
     And so, today, pray for those who drive you the craziest, ask God to bless someone even more when you’d rather be jealous, and don’t forget to pray for yourself and be thankful that Jesus lives in you.  Didn’t you invite Him in?  He’s there, and you shine –
    because of Him.
 
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Poetry

Leave a Reply

