I’l Sorry

Apology is a lovely perfume; it can transform the clumsiest moment into a gracious gift. 

                                                           ~ Margaret Lee Runbeck
 
 Thine, O Lord is the greatness, and the power, and the glory, and the victory, and the majesty: for all that is in the heaven and in the earth is thine; thine is the kingdom, O Lord, and thou art exalted as head above all.
                                                              ~ 1 Chronicles 29:11
 
     There is this little guy in first grade who acts with such maturity that it is hard to remember he is a first grader.  It began in kindergarten.  We saw each other at the store, at the doctor’s office, I have written about him once before.  He has such wisdom and he delivers lines with great gravity.  
     Recently however, he has been the funny guy.  Cracking jokes, answering back, imitating me.  I separated him from the group, I spoke with him, but nothing worked.  Finally I called home and spoke with his folks.  I had recently met with the for conferences and delivered a glowing report.  Because his report glowed.
     But because his report glowed, they were open to hearing what I had to say (apparently he had been trying this at home as well,) and they assured me that my little buddy would be bringing an apology along with his library book.  The apology came before the library book, like walking-through-the-door-of-the-school before.  His amazing blue eyes looked out from under his close cropped hair and he handed it to me, saying simply “Here Mrs. Dickman, it’s, it’s…”  “Thank you, I said, taking the envelope from his hand,  and I opened it up.
” I know I did the wrong thing making fun of you Mrs. Dickman.  I was trying to be funny.  I hurt your feelings, I am sorry.  I won’t do it again.  Your friend,” Epoch (not his name at all.)
     We talked a bit, I accepted his apology, discussed comedians and timing a little and I sent him on his way.  That apology made our relationship better, it “leveled the playing field,” as it were.  It opened his heart, and mine and broke down that little berm of defense I had begun to construct against future hurt.
     Today, speak it out to the Lord, write it down, laugh it out, cry it out with that one who hurt you.  If you are not ready for that, pray that the Lord will prepare you to forgive, or, prepare you to apologize.  Prayer works wonders no matter what.  Let the Lord peel away the onion of hurt, defense, anger that has been built.
I’m Sorry – David Kaufman
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Poetry

Leave a Reply

