Counting Assets, Moving On

If you count all your assets, you always show a profit. 

 
                                 ~Robert Quillen
 
As parents feel for their children,
    God feels for those who fear him.
 
                                 ~Psalm 103:13
 
     I never thought my parents were actually gonna kill me.  I can remember saying “My mother’s/father’s gonna kill me!” when I did something wrong or foolish, sometimes even an accident that might have been avoided if only I had thought it through further.  I feared their look, or their disappointment.  They let me learn by making my own mistakes, and then supported me when I was left to reap the consequences, the heart-ache, they did not say “I told you so,” though it must have been hard at times.
     It must be similar for God.  God knows us, knows the plans God has for us, sees us through Jesus.  God loves us, is there to comfort us, instruct us, send us wise friends/strangers when the time is right, when we can finally hear past our own attitudes, our own knowledge and see, in the debris what happened.    
     While we are sitting there, it is a good time to take stock of our blessings, assets and joys before we get up and move on.  Don’t rush it, but don’t belabor it either.  Move when it’s time, God is bigger than us all and can take care of those we leave behind. Otherwise, we will be consumed by ____________.
 
Lord, today help me to see the blessings that I have never seen before and be thankful for the ones I have seen.  Help me to move ahead on the path you have set before me.  Help me to love your counsel.  In the name of your precious son Jesus, Amen.
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Poetry

Leave a Reply

