Lead Me

Leaders don’t create followers, they create more leaders. 
                                            ~ Tom Peters
 
Husbands, go all out in your love for your wives, exactly as Christ did for the church—a love marked by giving, not getting. Christ’s love makes the church whole. His words evoke her beauty. Everything he does and says is designed to bring the best out of her, dressing her in dazzling white silk, radiant with holiness. And that is how husbands ought to love their wives. They’re really doing themselves a favor—since they’re already “one” in marriage.
                            ~ Ephesians 5:25-28
 
     If you want to hear about husbands and their faults, just walk into the faculty room at our school.  Folks are talking about their husbands, their fathers, all the men who don’t live up to their expectations.  It is oh so easy.  All you need to do is add one “I know what you mean!” and folks will turn and listen.  
     It is not that there is nothing to add, it’s just that it is not good form or fair to speak to a group who can do nothing to help whatever the irritation of the day might be.  And surely, I am not spotless!  Early in our marriage, my husband told me that if I had a problem with him, I needed to pray for him.  That may sound weird, as if he was not interested in hearing it, but that is far from the truth.  
     What I did find was that when I was praying for my husband, no matter what, God heard me, God gave me the patience, the grace to wait, to act, to do what needed to be done.  The times I have fallen short resulted in hurt feelings, or misunderstanding.  This man, that I have committed my life, my honor, my promise to, tells me everyday how beautiful I am, looks at me with eyes that shine with the love of God, supports me wishes and hopes and dreams.  He leads with strong arms that enfold me not only in his love, but in the love of the Father.
     No matter what your relationship status, pray for your “other”, whether you have met them or not. Maybe you used to be more faithful and have fallen off your prayer time.  Invest.
Lay your hand on the pillow, empty or not, and pray that your significant other will press into God.
     It works!
Lead Me With Strong Arms
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Poetry

Leave a Reply

