Dear Lord, Oh Lord

Forgiveness is a funny thing. It warms the heart and cools the sting.
 
                                                            ~William Arthur Ward
 

 “Don’t seek revenge or carry a grudge against any of your people.

“Love your neighbor as yourself. I am God.

                                                             ~ Leviticus 19:18

Dear Lord,

     She is loud and imposing.  Her voice can be heard doors away in the halls.  Interruptions are her hallmark, getting in one’s face equally that.  Newly on my list of folks I need to pray for regularly. But you knew that.

     Recently, we had an altercation, and I would not let her go before I had my say.  She didn’t want to hear it, but I made her listen.  When all was said and done, things worked out, and apparently this individual was  singing my praises, but we both know Lord, that  she should have been singing yours.  You held me together.  You helped me speak my piece insistently but gently.  

      You know, Lord, that this individual single handedly (with your help) brought her sick husband back from the brink of disaster by sheer will and lots of coaxing and positive coaching.  You know the amazing influence she has on students.  You also know, Lord, that I must love her as she is, or stay away.

     Thank you Lord, for pointing out her good qualities so that I could get out of your way, and forgive her. Amen

Because of You,

Linda

The Building Block

Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Poetry

Leave a Reply

