Prayer of the Day

A person who is nice to you, but rude to the waiter, is not a nice person. 

       ~ Dave Barry

 
When I walk into the thick of trouble,
    keep me alive in the angry turmoil.
With one hand
    strike my foes,
With your other hand
    save me.
Finish what you started in me, God.
    Your love is eternal—don’t quit on me now.
 
     ~ Psalm 138:7-8
 
It’s when a person snaps their fingers
or when they whistle with false authority.
It’s when they call me by my first name
 as if they know me, to provide a courtesy.
It’s when they sidle up beside 
and throw their arm across –
I know what is expected 
     – it’s I-should-know-who’s-boss.
 
I take my cue from you Lord,
who enfolds me in your wing,
who goes ahead, 
who shows the way
with tender mercies, sing.
 
You are the one who teaches
who has been there before,
the one who shows the strength a leader
sent from Heaven’s shore.
Guide me as I walk this path,
Guide me Lord I pray.
Take this shell, this day, this hour,
Make them shine today.
 
Help me to remember
’twas not so long ago,
I was the one in question
my authority to show.
 
One thing more I ask of Thee,
Please help the rude one see
to move ahead with graciousness
as Your face they see
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

