When I can’t, God can!

To live in this world, you must be able to do three things: to love what is mortal; to hold it against your bones knowing your own life depends on it; and, when the time comes to let it go, to let it go. 
 
                                                           ~ Mary Oliver
 

God can do anything, you know—far more than you could ever imagine or guess or request in your wildest dreams! He does it not by pushing us around but by working within us, his Spirit deeply and gently within us.

Glory to God in the church!
Glory to God in the Messiah, in Jesus!
Glory down all the generations!
Glory through all millennia! Oh, yes!

                                               ~ Ephesians 3:20-21

      A friend of mine used to say that God was so much more willing to help us than we are willing to ask.  This goes for just about everything.  I have been plagued with what I thought was a friendship for most of my adult life.  Subsequently, I missed out on what a healthy friendship looks like.  There are many I love, but have not reciprocated their invitations with invites of my own.  I judge myself before I even give them the opportunity, or, worse, I judge what I believe they will think of me once they have been to my home.  All of this based primarily upon a life time of a disappointing “best friend.”

    After reading the advice by Mary Oliver, a treasured poet and a practical one as well, I believe I have passed the holding on by about three decades.  Today, I believe I will write a litany of letting go for this friendship that shaped my life and ways of looking at friendship.  I am so thankful for some precious sisters in Christ who show me the love of God with every glance, with every action, even if we cannot see each other always.

     Today, consider beginning to let go of that thing or person that holds you back.  And don’t forget to ask God for help.

     Because of Him,

     Linda

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “When I can’t, God can!

  1. Joan

    Learning to let go is the hardest lesson. We all are human – with egos – and they get in the way of God….attach healthily and detach when needed…tough stuff. Don’t be too hard on yourself, sister. We are all in this stuff together.

Leave a Reply

