My Help Comes From You

The light is what guides you home, the warmth is what keeps you there. 

                                                ~ Ellie Rodriguez

 
“I’ve loved you the way my Father has loved me. Make yourselves at home in my love. If you keep my commands, you’ll remain intimately at home in my love. That’s what I’ve done—kept my Father’s commands and made myself at home in his love.
                                                    ~ John 15:9-10
 
     The other day, I was having breakfast with a friend.  We spent many happy hours walking, talking, just enjoying each other’s company.  At one point, I felt the need to go, but was conflicted about leaving her.  I apologized (way too much in general) and she replied, “Don’t apologize for being true to yourself.”
 
     That hit me like a vision.  I had always heard “To thine own self be true,”  (Wm. Shakespeare) but I had never applied it in the way my friend articulated it.  I had a feeling it was time to go and I acted on it, and it was the right thing to do.  It was that still small voice that I know, but had not applied to that kind of situation.  A new situation came up, and I was given time to think about it, and realized it was the same thing.  I was invited to go somewhere and did not want to go at that particular time.  We thanked the person for the invite, but we were not able to make it.  Again, I felt peace.
 
     Thank you Lord, for using my friend as your mouthpiece.  Thank you for teaching me that being a people-pleaser need not be a sentence, but another opportunity to listen to you.
Shoulders – For King and Country
 
Because of Him,
whose mercy is relentless,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Poetry

Leave a Reply

