Just Like You

The simplest toy, one which even the youngest child can operate, is called a grandparent. 
                                                               ~Sam Levenson
 
 
Guide older men into lives of temperance, dignity, and wisdom, into healthy faith, love, and endurance. Guide older women into lives of reverence so they end up as neither gossips nor drunks, but models of goodness.
                                                               ~ Titus 2:2-3
 
     One of the things I loved about my grandmother was the way she smelled like candy.  I think it was her face powder, but it always made me think of pink melt-away candy candy lipstick.  Her hair was just-so, and she was always dressed up for church with her fox-collar that looked as if the foxes were racing around her neck chasing one another.
     She loved going for walks, picking blueberries, peppermint stick ice-cream, Chowards violet mint candies )which I was sure I could smell through the phone!)  Memere’ taught her dogs, Tiny and Bijou to pray and she was a good example.
     My grandfather was as scary as my grandmother was sweet.  There was a crack in the kitchen ceiling that scared me, and when I was told that the crack was made when Grampy yelled, I was even more afraid of him.  
     Things changed when I got older.  I saw them as human beings instead of magical creatures, and it was hard to be in the car leaving their home and realize that the silence in the front seat was my parents recovering.
     I had a pastor once who helped me with this began to happen with another set of grandparents.  Pastor told me that the woman in question was a woman just like me, trying to live her life and do the right things the best she knew how.  I heard that. And the seed of forgiveness took root.
     Today, as you deal with that ornery friend, relative, loved one, remember.; God loves them, and they are doing what they know to live their lives the best they can, just like you and me.  Pray for those who make you crazy.
     Because of Him,
     Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Poetry

Leave a Reply

