Be Angry and Sin Not? How?

Let a fool hold his tongue and he will pass for a sage. 

                                                                                 ~Publilius Syrus

 
Do you want to be counted wise, to build a reputation for wisdom? Here’s what you do: Live well, live wisely, live humbly. It’s the way you live, not the way you talk, that counts.
 
                                                                                    ~ James 3:13
 
     My mom was wise in the “holding your tongue” department.  She was sure that words hurt, and that they should be chosen wisely.  My dad was a sage with words, placing them where they could do the most good and be constructive.  They left me a legacy of wisdom, Godly behavior, service to our fellow human.
     Anger was the mystery to me, and still is.  My dad didn’t yell, he crinkled his newspaper if we got on his nerves.  That is all he had to do.  If we saw his face, we should disappear.  If he got up, we might risk a spanking, but the spanking was never done in anger or punishment, it was discipline.  He taught us to play basketball or punch the punching bag in the basement when we were angry, use the energy for a positive reason.
     When Mom was angry, her hands would fly to her hips and she might yell, or point to our rooms, but no physical punishment other than an occasional spanking.  When they were upset with one another, Mom would go silent for three days, but we never heard anything.  I believe those discussions went on behind closed doors.  I am not good at expressing my anger, and I don’t want to hurt with my words when I am angry.  I have begun asking my friends about anger with family and anger with their partner.  Mostly it is the “behind closed doors” discussion that they favor.
     Now I will ask you; how do you “be angry and sin not” with friends, family, partners? 
   Whose example do you follow?
    Because of Him,
Linda
I Wanna Be Like You
Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Poetry

Leave a Reply

