The List

Eliminate physical clutter. More importantly, eliminate spiritual clutter.                                              
~ Terri Guillemets
 
If you’ve gotten anything at all out of following Christ, if his love has made any difference in your life, if being in a community of the Spirit means anything to you, if you have a heart, if you care— then do me a favor: Agree with each other, love each other, be deep-spirited friends. Don’t push your way to the front; don’t sweet-talk your way to the top. Put yourself aside, and help others get ahead. Don’t be obsessed with getting your own advantage. Forget yourselves long enough to lend a helping hand.
                                             ~ Philippians 1:2-3
 
     My dad was a big supporter of lending a helping hand.  He was always helping the neighbors, folks at church, strangers home and when we were on vacation.  He did not wait to be asked, he would simply go up to a person and ask if they needed help, or just jump in.  It did not even matter if he was having a hard time with a person: if they needed help, he was there.  
     When I started dating, I brought home a plethora of interesting guys.  At one point, my dad asked me what I was doing with a particular man.  He wanted to know if he fit my vision of the position of future husband.  He encouraged me to have a mental resume, or even make a list of what I was looking for, so I’d know if the person met even the minimum requirements.  I told my dad that Jesus loved everyone, and my dad said, “Yes, Linda, but He didn’t bring them all home did he?”
     I broke up with the guy, made a list, laid hands on it, prayed it back to God and then proceeded to spend the next ten years trying to help God fill that list.  Finally, I gave up.  That year, I met the love of my life.  I focused on my work, helping others, finding a new church and paying attention to those around me more than myself.
     God answered several prayers, that continue to unfold, over thirty years later. And those other guys?  Boy did God know better!
     When you give God a job, or pray a prayer, spend some time thanking God for the answer, no matter what that is, and get right on helping others.  You will be surprised at what God can accomplish while you are busy doing God’s work!
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Poetry

Leave a Reply

