Just Be Held

Sorrow makes us all children again — destroys all differences of intellect. The wisest know nothing. 
                                                        ~Ralph Waldo Emerson
 
So reach out and welcome one another to God’s glory.
                                       ~ Romans 15:7
 
     My Aunt, my favorite, most faithful aunt, my only remaining relative from that generation, is gone to be with the Lord.  We spent some glorious time together in this life.  She was there for my very first day in the world.  And she will be there for my very first day in the next, standing with the rest of my family.
     My Uncle and my family have been in touch every day.  We are telling stories back and forth, laughing, crying and being together as we can.  The best thing about this whole experience is this:  the Lord is present in every conversation, as are open hearts, open minds, pure love.
    Letting of her is hard.  Then I heard this song on K-Love yesterday.  Just Be Held by Casting Crowns.
 
     Just be held. Relax into the love, the tender mercies, the everlasting arms of the one who keeps you, who lay down His life for you, the one who knows you from before time began.  Just be held.
     Because of Him,
Linda
    Here are the lyrics:  
“Just Be Held”

Hold it all together
Everybody needs you strong
But life hits you out of nowhere
And barely leaves you holding on

And when you’re tired of fighting
Chained by your control
There’s freedom in surrender
Lay it down and let it go

So when you’re on your knees and answers seem so far away
You’re not alone, stop holding on and just be held
Your worlds not falling apart, its falling into place
I’m on the throne, stop holding on and just be held
Just be held, just be held

If your eyes are on the storm
You’ll wonder if I love you still
But if your eyes are on the cross
You’ll know I always have and I always will

And not a tear is wasted
In time, you’ll understand
I’m painting beauty with the ashes
Your life is in My hands

Lift your hands, lift your eyes
In the storm is where you’ll find Me
And where you are, I’ll hold your heart
I’ll hold your heart
Come to Me, find your rest
In the arms of the God who wont let go

 
 
Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Poetry

Leave a Reply

