Watch the Trees

Trees are poems that earth writes upon the sky.

      ~ Kahlil Gibran
 
Seek ye the Lord while he may be found, call ye upon him while he is near:
    ~ Isaiah 55:6
 
     When I was away at school, I missed my favorite radio station.  The internet was not accessible or known by most in the 70’s. It was a narrow band of those who knew how or were granted access . So to get to my favorite station, I had to position my radio just right, hope that the stars were in alignment, and twist that dial.  
     Sometimes, I was rewarded with foreign lands on nights when I could not find “The Night Bird.” And sometimes, there was Allison Steele’s voice announcing the very rich lyriced artists we both favored.  Having that connection made me feel less like I was in New Hampshire, and more as if Long Island was under me.  Some nights, I cried.  Even though the dial had not moved a smidge, I was not able to tune in.  I would listen to the static.
    There are times, when we are that disconnected to God.  The dial hasn’t moved, but we cannot hear because of the “ether.” We lament, we wish, we hope, we are missing that sound.
 The signal is still there.  It is as close as sound, as that reserve of air that you take in before you have to sing a long line of text.  
     Breathe in, sing out, watch the trees as the wind gives them song.  God is that close.
Little Willow
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional

Leave a Reply

