Depend on God for Reading and More

Read, every day, something no one else is reading. Think, every day, something no one else is thinking. Do, every day, something no one else would be silly enough to do. It is bad for the mind to continually be part of unanimity. 
 
                                      ~Christopher Morley
 
Depend on God and keep at it
    because in the Lord God you have a sure thing.
                                       ~ Isaiah 26:4
 
Someone approached me at school and asked me what I read.  I began with “I am weird, I don’t read the bestseller list.”
 
“But I want to know, because I love reading different things.  Please tell me.” she countered.
 
“I read theological books, books about worship, biographies, poetry.”
 
“Can you give me a title?” came the reply.
 
Learning to Walk in the Dark, by Barbara Brown Taylor is one that I really enjoyed. It talks about the blessings that we can find in the dark, how the world has so much light that often, one cannot see the stars.”
 
“Thank you! My husband and I are campers, and we have …
” 
 
Well, you get the idea.  It opened up a conversation that gave me some freedom, and gave my interviewer a new title.  So often in my profession (librarian) folks expect you to not only know everything, but have read everything.   I feel that in this instance I was hesitant to believe that this encounter was God’s doing. Maybe because I had to expose my own tastes which are not often in the mainstream.
 
But God is good, and dependable and knows.  Even if your encounter today has nothing to do with books, depend on God to supply what you need in the moment.
 
Because of Him,
Linda
2 Comments

Filed under Devotional

2 responses to “Depend on God for Reading and More

  1. Hi Linda, I LOVE your blog, thankyou for providing some comfort and food for thought at the same time…Have a tip a dee top day…Luv Dawny 🙂

Leave a Reply

