For Halloween This Year

The days may not be so bright and balmy—yet the quiet and melancholy that linger around them is fraught with glory. Over everything connected with autumn there lingers some golden spell—some unseen influence that penetrates the soul with its mysterious power. 
     ~Northern Advocate
 
O God, thou art my God; early will I seek thee: my soul thirsteth for thee, my flesh longeth for thee in a dry and thirsty land, where no water is;
    Psalm 63:1
 
I know  this year
this Halloween, exactly who I’ll be.
I’ll don a skin of camel, 
tied round with leather strap,
 
Locusts dipped in honey,
will serve as my repast
I’ll stand astride the Jordan,
the sunlight as my cap.
 
I’ll dip them in the water,
their sins will float downstream,
They will emerge new creatures,
in this land of Galilee.
 
I’ll baptize crying “all repent”
God’s kingdom is at hand.
They’ll come from o’er the Island
They’ll come, they’ve heard of me.
 
All I need’s a river,
the line forms to the right,
Be washed clean of all that binds
step out to the shore.
 
It’s all the rage, even snakes
are taking up their place.
Come get your lives in order,
but there comes one who’s more.
 
Compared?  I’m just a techie
the one who sets the stage,
He’ll shake you to your innards,
From the inside out you’ll glow.
 
Oh wait, I have not camel hair,
no taste for locusts dipped.
Not standing in the Jordan,
not shouting out “Repent.”
 
I know the snakes, that crowd
who makes a show upon their lips.
they flow past by the hundreds,
no line forms, no knees bent.
 
I have no river Jordan,
no desert setting near.
All I have is Jesus,
and a life that needs to loose
 
so much more than sandals,
a plateful of mortal sins.
Painful splinters, growing hate.
I know now what to choose.
 
For Hallowe’en this year
I think, I’ll just dress up as me.
and leave my sandals on the shore,
in the land of Galilee.
 
All I have is Jesus.
Jesus, is my all.
This Long Island wilderness
is where I”ll follow Thee.
 
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

