Wait

For thirty years now, in times of stress and strain, when something has me backed against the wall and I’m ready to do something really stupid with my anger, a sorrowful face appears in my mind and asks… “Problem or inconvenience?” I think of this as the Wollman Test of Reality. Life is lumpy. And a lump in the oatmeal, a lump in the throat, and a lump in the breast are not the same lump. One should learn the difference. 


                                                            ~ Robert Fulghum,Uh-Oh
 
This is God’s Word on the subject: “As soon as Babylon’s seventy years are up and not a day before, I’ll show up and take care of you as I promised and bring you back home. I know what I’m doing. I have it all planned out—plans to take care of you, not abandon you, plans to give you the future you hope for.
 
                                                          ~ Jeremiah 29:10, 11
 
     I work with someone who knows.  She loves to complain, but she knows the difference.  Her path to God is sometimes obscured by the lumps, but she continues on.  My friend has wisdom beyond her years.  She has a friend that we discuss often, as the friend presents many challenges.  She has seen no diversity that appears in the “lump on the breast” category.  
     Her complaints fill the air, but they sound a lot to my friend like “Why can’t everyone be more like me?  You know, normal!”
When she enters the “world” she presents a picture of perfection, does all the right things, says all the right things, but when she airs her displeasure it is always in a public place, and she pays no heed to the possibilities.
     You have all suffered from one kind of lump or another.  You have all cried out to God, “When? When will this trial end?”  An old friend of mine wrote a song called Wait.  She was crying out to God with regard to a mate.  That was thirty or more years ago.  I know that God has heard her.  Her song says that God’s answer till this very day has been “Wait.  I hear you, and I want you to wait.”  She continues to follow the Lord, sing his praises, spread the message. 
     Whatever it is you are waiting for, God has heard you.  God’s perfect answer will arrive in God’s perfect timing.  Meanwhile, be choosy about with whom and where you cry out to God.  It can make all the difference in your next song, your next cry, your next step.
    Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

