There’s a Lot of Work to Do

People who don’t cherish their elderly have forgotten whence they came and whither they go.
                                                   ~ Ramsey Clark
 
Wherefore thou art great, O Lord God: for there is none like thee, neither is there any God beside thee, according to all that we have heard with our ears.
                                                  ~ 2 Samuel 7:22
 
      My husband and I were out with a couple that might be perceived as elderly.  ( I hear that elderly is always at least 20 years older than you are.)  I am sure that some of you would perceive my husband and I as elderly.  The point is, this is an active couple.  He is a retired engineer, she is a retired school teacher.  They volunteer as much as a full time job, and they do it well.  
     The problem they encounter is people who are unbending in their ways, unable to take suggestions, and that talk down to them.  I know of what they speak.  The same things that I did 20 or 30 or even 40 years ago are ascribed to “getting older” by some of my younger colleagues when I do them now.  I must admit that when they do the same things, I remind them that they must be “getting older,” with a grin on my face. I acknowledge the aging process, I respect it, but I am very busy living.
     God is older than time, and as fresh as the next breath we take.  We cherish the wisdom that is imparted to us by God. We don’t always follow it, but we do respect and cherish it, even more so when we do follow it!  How much more might we learn if we listened to our elderly, asked them for their stories, listen when they begin to tell a tale.  The core of a person is the core, from the time they are seedlings, to the time when they are tossed into the field a become one with the earth, like an apple.
     Be gracious to those older than you are, listen respectfully and be slow to anger (so hard in some cases!).  On this road from one garden to another, they have much to share.  And even if we are miles behind them, we are also on the road. And there’s a lot of work to do.
There’s a Lot of Work To Do
 
Because of Him,
Linda
 
     Because of Him,
     Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Poetry

Leave a Reply

