I Will Lift You Up

Every evening I turn my worries over to God. He’s going to be up all night anyway. 

                                                   ~ Mary Crowley


Delight thyself also in the Lord: and he shall give thee the desires of thine heart.
                                                    ~ Psalm 37:4
 
     I have been writing poetry since the 60’s. My first memory of writing poetry is in the hills of the Sierra Nevada Mountains in a CYO camp.  Lately, I have been finding success being published by an up and coming local publisher.  I keep entering contests, getting polite replies, gentle rejections, until this last contest.
     Along with my notice that I had not won, I found that I received honorable mention and an offer to publish!  I thought it was too good to be true, but the proof keeps coming in.  Along with this honor, I noticed other types of invitations that I dismissed as unrelated, until last week.   
     My husband and I were invited by one of his clients to dine with them at their club.  My inner self was all kinds of resistant and as I prepared to go, I heard the Lord whisper “I will lift you up.”  My eyes filled, a wall began to crumble.  Fear beckoned, but the Lord spoke peace to my heart and the word “trust.”
     I don’t need to know how, when or where the Lord is going to lift me up, I know that it is easy to keep my chin tucked down, where it is hard for His loving hand to reach.  Have you ever felt this way?  Will you pray with me?
 
     Lord, here is my chin, my hands, my heart, my gifts, my foils, my faults.  Use them for your glory, and help me to lift others along the way. for they were yours to begin with.  In Jesus’ name, and in the name of the Father and the Holy Spirit.
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Poetry

Leave a Reply

