Gifiting

From the latter weeks of October to Christmas-eve… is the period during which happiness is in season, which, in my judgment, enters the room with the tea-tray… 
                               ~Thomas De Quincey (1785–  
                                   1859), Confessions of an English Opium-                                        Eater
 Live creatively, friends. If someone falls into sin, forgivingly restore him, saving your critical comments for yourself. You might be needing forgiveness before the day’s out. Stoop down and reach out to those who are oppressed. Share their burdens, and so complete Christ’s law. If you think you are too good for that, you are badly deceived.
                               ~ Galatians 6:1-3
 
     Christmas Club checks are either issued, or just about to be transferred to your account.  So it’s not too soon to be considering that list you  may have.  Be sincere in your gift giving.   I have a few folks that are hard to find just the right gift for, but they are still on my list. It requires watching, paying attention to their preferences, noticing what they say they wish they had.  
     Sometimes I miss clues from folks about what they want, sometimes I get it so right and they have no idea how I knew.  Where I am concerned, I just got some insight.  I was asked directly what I wanted for Christmas, and over the course of the next few hours I mentioned three things that I would love, but I did not directly answer the question.
     When the person asked me what I wanted again, I said, “I mentioned three things over the last few hours.”
     “I had no idea,” said she. 
     I then spelled it out for her.  She didn’t hear it because I didn’t give it to her in the way she could process the information.
     It occurs to me that we have that relationship with God sometimes.  We cannot process what we hear because we are in a place where there is bad “reception.”  A little farther on down the road the “heir waves” might be better received.  And your hearing might improve due to a change in scenery, or circumstances.  I know that for me, sometimes I look back and wonder how I was so thick not to have seen or heard what God was trying to show me, and there is that perfect gift:  the gift of understanding.
     So, as you consider re-gifting, gifting, not gifting gifting to an organization in someone’s name, endeavor to make sure that the name you might substitute for the person in whose name you are giving, is Jesus.
     Because of Him,
     Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Poetry

Leave a Reply

