Just Be Held

Children’s talent to endure stems from their ignorance of alternatives. 
 
     ~ Maya Angelou, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, 1969
 
God means what he says. What he says goes. His powerful Word is sharp as a surgeon’s scalpel, cutting through everything, whether doubt or defense, laying us open to listen and obey. Nothing and no one is impervious to God’s Word. We can’t get away from it—no matter what.
   ~ Hebrews 4:12
     
     I serve some amazing children.  They come from affluence and poverty, joy and pain, struggle and flight.  When I sit in the choir loft on Sunday and look out at them, my heart is full.  They are kind and fidgety, compassionate and curious and they explode in joy at the most unusual times.  I am amazed at how they come up smiling after seeing, or knowing what they go home to every  night…what you go home to every night.
 
     I think my pastor chuckles at me for wanting to go and sit with the children every Sunday, and I know that it comes from an honest urging to go because I am a child of God. I see the child of God in him, in the congregation aging and otherwise.
      You are a precious child of God.  A God who knows the secrets, who knows why you blame yourself for things that you had no control over, a God who see the jewel you are, and the shine you are developing.  Sometimes, one just has to let go and be held.  Today, let the arms of God enfold you.
Just Be Held – Casting Crowns
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Poetry

Leave a Reply

