The Letter

You cannot shake hands with a clenched fist. 
     ~ Golda Meir
 
We couldn’t be more sure of ourselves in this—that you, written by Christ himself for God, are our letter of recommendation. We wouldn’t think of writing this kind of letter about ourselves. Only God can write such a letter. His letter authorizes us to help carry out this new plan of action. The plan wasn’t written out with ink on paper, with pages and pages of legal footnotes, killing your spirit. It’s written with Spirit on spirit, his life on our lives!
     ~ 2Corinthians 3:4-6
 
     You are a letter representing God.  I am sure I can hear your thoughts racing to your list of imperfections, I know mine did.  I wondered if someone picked up “my letter” yesterday, or any day, what they would read.  Sometimes my fist is clenched, sometimes my vision is way off, sometimes I am judgmental, sometimes my heart is clenched even if my hand is not, sometimes I am just plain in hope of redaction, so no one could read my actions or my obvious intent.
     But then there is that reader.  The one that gets you, gets your music, your poetry, you pottery, you construction, your work with numbers, or wood or just about anything.  They pick up the document and look at who wrote it, and their heart smiles all the way to the surface.
    God is your reader first and foremost, and then we are blessed with a precious few others who see the stuff that our minds did NOT race toward; our intention, our hours of practice, our years of experience, our innocence, our heart’s cry, the perfectly fluted icing, the flip side of the embroidery which is just as perfect at the outside, the correct base under a sidewalk that no one sees…but God.
    You are a letter that begs to be read.  In His Grace,
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Poetry

Leave a Reply

