Just the Way We Do

And Jesus said unto them, I am the bread of life: he that cometh to me shall never hunger; and he that believeth on me shall never thirst.

       ~ John 6:35
 
Don’t worry that children never listen to you; worry that they are always watching you. 
     ~ Robert Fulghum
 
     The two sat at table.  She went about making “breakfast,” he sat down to “read” the paper.  She served him, he ate behind the paper and then folded up and got up.
“Bye, have a good day.” he walked out of the play kitchen.
 
“Bye honey, have a good day.”  She cleaned up the dishes and picked up the phone. “You can come over now, he’s gone.”
 
     This conversation was between two kindergartners where I first started working.  We all thought it was a funny story, and a sad one because the children were mimicking their parents.
     He was used to seeing his dad buried behind the morning news, she was apparently used to hearing her mom call her paramour after her father left for work. 
     They watch texting and driving (my students report in all the time when I ask them not to read and walk down the hall, followed with “Don’t text and drive either.”)  They watch as their mom claims it is their birthday just to get free cake. They watch you holding the door open for another, freaking out in traffic, speak harshly to each other.
     And, speaking for myself, I am thankful that my daughters remind me to love people the way they are, just the way I taught them, and sometimes seem to forget.
     Today, I am thankful for all those whom I have not loved the way they are, and my children who keep me in check by reminding me.
 
Lord, help us to see others the way that you see them, and to love the way you love.
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

