“You don’t have to wait for the End. I am, right now, Resurrection and Life. The one who believes in me, even though he or she dies, will live. And everyone who lives believing in me does not ultimately die at all. Do you believe this?”
          ~John 11:25-26
 
The teacher who is indeed wise does not bid you to enter the house of his wisdom but rather leads you to the threshold of your mind. 
            ~Kahlil Gibran
 
     It is the kind, but insistent teachers that have stuck with me and the unkind and unforgiving teachers who sometimes haunt the threshold of my mind.
     The kind ones had a goal in mind while teaching the rudiments of whatever subject it was, and they had a love of learning that was as passionate as their chosen profession.  They had style, a bit of mischief, some were kissed by the fairies, others led by an invisible glowing tether of the Spirit of God.  
     I expected to learn from them.  And I did.  Not always what they were teaching, but I took those lessons forward.  I was always in awe of a teacher who admitted that they did not know and together we strove to find out.
     Jesus is such a teacher.  Jesus lives in the scoop of sunset in the seagull’s wings, in the unrelenting wag of a dog’s tail, in the forgiving embrace of a loved one and in so many more places.
     Today, if you can tell a teacher you have had, that they made an impact on you, please do.  The first one that comes to mind for me is not one, but two; our music director and our organist who are an entire music education if one watches and listens.
 
Lord, thank you for my teachers both present with you, and still present here on earth.  Thank you for all the seeds they planted, for all the love they shared, for all the direction they gave me as they lifted my gaze toward You.
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

