Pull Over!

The Lord thy God will raise up unto thee a Prophet from the midst of thee, of thy brethren, like unto me; unto him ye shall hearken;

                               ~ Deuteronomy 18:15
 
We cannot hold a torch to light another’s path without brightening our own.                        
                                 ~Ben Sweetland
 
     We are often so  busy helping others that we forget about helping ourselves, or that our needs exist.
     I have a dear friend who often says, “I’ll rest when I’m dead.”  But I have considered that the source may be something that pushes.  Pushes him to keep moving, keep doing good, keep on being there for loved ones and those tossed away by society over anything he does for himself.
     When he stops, all that is pushing him crowds around and reminds him of where he came from, what circumstances that were beyond his control, of the betrayal that became a nightmare.  
      This reminds me of driving.  Sometimes, when I am on my way to work, in the six to ten minute commute that I usually enjoy, there is someone behind me driving up my tailpipe like the hounds of hell.  Lately, I have taken to pulling over, letting them pass, and returning to the calm drive.  
     I think the things that “push” us, will pass  if we just pull over.  Often that pulling over includes forgiving someone that up until that moment, was driving us crazy. You go to a dinner to honor a friend, that person is there and God lifts the burden.
     You hold a torch to light someone else’s path, and God allows you to see more, and your own path is lit.
(Tom Fettke, You are the Light)
 
Thank you Lord, for giving me opportunity to pull over, to lift someone else, for lighting my path.  Help my friend to do the same, I lift him to you right now as well as all those who read this no matter when they read it.  Be the light that guides them home.
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

