God’s Timing

Find patience or it will never find you. 
     ~ Mike Dolan
 
Watch what God does, and then you do it, like children who learn proper behavior from their parents. Mostly what God does is love you. Keep company with him and learn a life of love. Observe how Christ loved us. His love was not cautious but extravagant. He didn’t love in order to get something from us but to give everything of himself to us. Love like that.
    ~ Ephesians 5:1-2
 
     Recently, I asked for prayer for an unspoken prayer request on social media.  I was sinking low, and knew I needed help.  I told no one of the request, and I am being blessed in an unfolding answer, which, at the very least boils down to trust, and patience.
     When I was a young woman, my dad started the tradition of giving me a small Whitman sampler for Christmas every year.  When he passed in 1989, someone that sampler showed up every Christmas from one source or another.  This year was such a challenging Christmas for me.  And as the dust started to settle, I realized that there had been no Whitman Sampler.  It made me sad.I looked heavenward, and commented on that and on a promise that had been made by a local merchant.
     The next day I noticed a Whitman sampler in the faculty lounge and had a chocolate.  It wasn’t mine, but it was close.  Yesterday, a friend walked in and handed me a package.  A tin.  A Whitman Sampler with a note that said, “I think you need a little sweet!” and the scripture, “Grace and peace be yours.”  2 Peter 1:2.  Tears flowed, and still flow.   It was just a gentle(?) reminder that my cry was heard. 
    Not five minutes later, another package arrived…the promise from the merchant.
     I don’t think I get the award for patience, but certainly, I was blessed.  Don’t give up.  Keep telling the Father, through the Son, just how you are feeling, what you are thinking, what hurts you, what gives you joy.  My answer to the prayer request is unfolding. God never misses a beat.  His timing is perfect.
     Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

