A Bit of Doggerel

The important thing is to strive towards a goal which is not immediately visible. That goal is not the concern of the mind, but of the spirit. 

     ~ Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
 
 
 If anyone boasts, “I love God,” and goes right on hating his brother or sister, thinking nothing of it, he is a liar. If he won’t love the person he can see, how can he love the God he can’t see? The command we have from Christ is blunt: Loving God includes loving people. You’ve got to love both.
   ~ 1 John 4:20-21
 
The goal is there within me,
I cannot see it formed.
A risky mirrored look indeed
does not this task perform.
 
I feel the Spirit rising,
oft times I beat it down.
Let anger overtake my lips,
spew poison, not grace found.
 
If I can keep my eyes on You,
the shoreline now defines,
a Saviour’s reach, from boat to beach,
Enveloped there. Divine.
 
Oh Lord direct my vision,
both outward and within,
that I may see much more of you,
and so much less of sin.
 
Lord, help my anger to be holy, productive, righteous and an offering to you along with the rest of me.
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

