I’m sure I’ve missed something…

It is better to be a little mad than commonplace. 
    ~ Victor Cherbuliez
 
Here is a simple, rule-of-thumb guide for behavior: Ask yourself what you want people to do for you, then grab the initiative and do it for them. Add up God’s Law and Prophets and this is what you get.
   ~ Matthew 7:12
 
     It is truly a good thing to “do unto others.”  I always thought of that as primarily a re-action, not an action. If someone is unkind, meet them with kindness, if someone is dishonest, respond with honesty.  Eugene Peterson’s iteration does give me pause to re-think something I have heard others hint at.  If I need a friend, be a friend.  If I need kindness, be kind.  These things oughtn’t to be done as a means of satisfying one’s own needs, but rather as a way of life.  Being oneself, (a little mad at times!) is a good thing in the body of Christ.  
     If in Him we live and move and have our being, then we must do our best to give what we need with the leading of the Spirit for specifics. Recently I was upset with a family member at her action.  I called them and clarified what I was upset with, and I was so happy at the response I received.  A new level of understanding was achieved, and I believe the relationship was enriched as a result.
    Today, let us be “mad” enough to be honest with ourselves, in Christ and our neighbors, taking action where we are directed as an initiative for the Golden Rule, not just an assignment.
 
Lord, it is so much easier for me to moan about another’s actions than it is do take it to Your level of response.  Help me to love no matter what, and spread the kind of things I would want to receive.
Amen.
 Because of Him,
Linda
PS.  I would welcome your thoughts on this one…
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

