Anger

Get mad, then get over it. 


     ~ Colin Powell


Consider it a sheer gift, friends, when tests and challenges come at you from all sides. You know that under pressure, your faith-life is forced into the open and shows its true colors. So don’t try to get out of anything prematurely. Let it do its work so you become mature and well-developed, not deficient in any way.
 
    ~ James 1:2-3
 
     Yesterday, I spoke of being angry, expressing it and feeling better.  When I saw Colin Powell’s quote, I realized something that was so simple for me, and yet I could not until this past weekend, embrace it.
     I was reminded of a similar incident that occurred during Christmas break where I expressed my anger, and then felt better.  Fear of anger is something I know.  Always afraid that if I express it, the person I am angry with won’t love me anymore.  For me this new experience of expressing my anger has brought nothing but healing, not hanging on to the anger, letting it submerge into passive-aggressive behavior. 
      I spent a life time watching that passive aggressive behavior being modeled  with such quietness that I really never realized how good I became at it; adapting remarks to suit my hurt, giving that person more power over me than any one should allow anyone else.
     Today, consider expressing yourself when  you are angry.  Try and make it honest, not hurtful or dredging up the entire history of the world and your relationship.  Keep it in the here and now (four fingers are now pointing back at me as I point one at y’all.) and look at how you might move forward into healing together.
     That, in my opinion, is the gift of this scripture.  Count it all joy.
 
Lord, help me to embrace you as I express any anger that I have.  Help me to fight fair should that become necessary and to see You, just beyond loving me through it all.
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

