Something More

True friendship comes when silence between two people is comfortable. 
 
       ~ Dave Tyson Gentry
 
     Be prepared. You’re up against far more than you can handle on your own. Take all the help you can get, every weapon God has issued, so that when it’s all over but the shouting you’ll still be on your feet. Truth, righteousness, peace, faith, and salvation are more than words. Learn how to apply them. You’ll need them throughout your life. God’s Word is an indispensable weapon. In the same way, prayer is essential in this ongoing warfare. Pray hard and long. Pray for your brothers and sisters. Keep your eyes open. Keep each other’s spirits up so that no one falls behind or drops out.
     ~ Ephesians 6:13-18
 
     In many battles, real, imagined, on film, there is a place where two partners merely look at each other and know exactly what to do, in tandem, next. This is no accident. This is two people who have spent time together, communicated, felt comfortable enough to fail in each other’s presence, be sick, silly, experience the range of human emotion with one another, and keep the relationship, knowing each other so well, that a look is all it takes.  
   Immediately I thought of those precious few with whom I share this relationship, and Aragorn and Legolas from Tolkein’s Lord of the Rings Trilogy came to mind  The words of the song that accompanies the video make me think of what we might sing to Jesus, who knows our potential, our gifts. our failings and continues to look at us with that amazing love.  The love I see in the eyes of some of you in this devotional who I am blessed to know.  Those to whom I would sing, and those whose song would be a blessing to hear.
 
    Today is a day of gratitude for those with whom I can share a silence and have a whole conversation with just a glance.
 
Lord you always see us through eyes of love, knowing our potential, knowing what we can be, what we are, and the road between. Thank you for being our champion there and back again.
 
Because of Him,
Linda
     
Something More – Ryan Malcolm
I don’t think that I could tell you what this means to me
Here I am, so hard to believe
That I’m standing here
That I’ve come this far
But you always said have faith in who you are

I want to take this time to thank you for the love you gave
And from this moment, you’ve got to know

I’ never wanted something more
And I’ve never felt so sure
Cause now I‘ve gotten this chance to be
Everything you saw in me
And even more
Than I ever dreamed before
As long as you are here with me
I know that I can be something more

Lookin’ back now its so clear to me
That you were sent to share my destiny
There were times when I was ready to walk away
But you gave me strength to face another day

I want to take this time to thank you for the love you gave
And from this moment you’ve got to know

I’ve never wanted something more
And I’ve never felt so sure
Cause now I’ve gotten this chance to be
Everything you saw in me
And even more
Than I ever dreamed before
As long as you are here with me
I know that I can be something more

I’m reaching for the sky
Won’t let this chance go by
I’ve waited all my life for something more

Now’s the time you’re gonna see
From this moment you’ve got to know

I’ve never wanted something more
And I’ve never felt so sure
Cause now I’ve got this chance to be
Everything you saw in me
And even more
Than I ever dreamed before
As long as you are here with me
You know that I can be something more
Woah
You made me want to be something more

Songwriters: BARRY, ALEXANDER FRANCIS / DEJESUS, RICK ANTHONY / ALEXANDER, ANDREW WILLIAM
Something More lyrics © Universal Music Publishing Group
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

