The Challenge

Kindred spirits are not so scarce as I used to think. It’s splendid to find out there are so many of them in the world. 
     ~ L.M. Montgomery
 

If I speak with human eloquence and angelic ecstasy but don’t love, I’m nothing but the creaking of a rusty gate.

If I speak God’s Word with power, revealing all his mysteries and making everything plain as day, and if I have faith that says to a mountain, “Jump,” and it jumps, but I don’t love, I’m nothing.

If I give everything I own to the poor and even go to the stake to be burned as a martyr, but I don’t love, I’ve gotten nowhere. So, no matter what I say, what I believe, and what I do, I’m bankrupt without love.

     ~ 1 Cor.13:1-3

   It’s that time again. Well meaning friends make offhanded remarks about political candidates.  They make inclusive statements about all members of political parties.  They put people down for their beliefs never realizing with whom they might be speaking.  

     It is as hard to listen to this as it is to listen to an elected official promise one thing and do another.  ANY elected official, BOTH sides of the aisle.  OUCH.

     Before you make blanket statements, consider who you’re covering.  Or (here it comes) pray for those who vex you, politically, personally, spiritually.  Before you open your mouth to curse them, PRAY for them, pray for you, praise the one who made us all.

Lord of all, please help me bridle that wild body part called the tongue.  It is all to easy to let it fly where it might, and wound the body of Christ.  The whole armor covers the mouth too.  Help me remember that.  In Jesus’ name. Amen

     Because of Him,

     Linda

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

