Scraps of Wisdom

I believe that what we become depends on what our fathers teach us at odd moments, when they aren’t trying to teach us. We are formed by little scraps of wisdom.

     ~ Umberto Eco
 
Isn’t it obvious that conspirators lose out,
    while the thoughtful win love and trust?
~ Proverbs 14:22
 
     After several years of living on the West Coast, New Hampshire, and a few different residences locally, I moved back into the house that I was raised in.  Yesterday, as I was walking our dog, we got to a bend in the road and all I could see and hear was my dad.  
     When my first marriage crashed, my dad pulled me from the wreckage and literally “walked” me.  We would walk every day when he got home from work.  There was no “point” to our conversation, we just walked and talked.  I will never forget that summer, because somewhere on the road, the healing began.
     “Why are we walking?” I can remember asking.
     “Because it is good for you.”
     My dad grew up in Massachusetts, just over the tracks, two miles from town.  He walked to everything.  He knew the value, the time to think, the chores that he had to get through, including drawing the family’s water from the local Indian well every day. When he began dating my mom, he walked those two miles every time he took her out or walked her home before his own walk home.
     What a fountain of wisdom he was!  He wasn’t trying to teach me a lesson out front, he was just trying to get my endorphins working (even though that was not “a thing” at the time.).  And so it remains.  I loved being on vacation this past week because I got to walk with my husband every day, uninterrupted by routine and obligations.  That was our routine, those were our obligations.  And we learned more about each other. Even when we didn’t say a word.
You’re a Good, Good Father – Chris Tomlin
 
     Today, consider taking a walk around the block, or at the park, or wherever it is safe for you to walk.  Take note.  Scraps of wisdom are there for the collecting.
 
Lord, thank you for all those walks with my father, the healing you began through him even then…that continues to this day.  And thank you for all those scraps.
     Because of Him,
     Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

