Music for the Journey

Kindness is just love with its workboots on. 

     ~ Author Unknown

 

I know what I’m doing. I have it all planned out—plans to take care of you, not abandon you, plans to give you the future you hope for.
 
12 “When you call on me, when you come and pray to me, I’ll listen.
 
13-14 “When you come looking for me, you’ll find me.
 
“Yes, when you get serious about finding me and want it more than anything else, I’ll make sure you won’t be disappointed.” God’s Decree.
 
     ~ Jeremiah 29:11-13
 
     Recently, I was able to visit with a friend in the course of our vacation travel.  We found a hearty, warm welcome, a beautiful dinner, quality conversation, and a room that made me feel as if it were made just for me.  I cherish this experience whenever it is visited upon me, and know it is the love of God shining through the host/hostess.
    With this particular visit, I found myself surprised to hear my words coming out of my friend’s mouth.  Her concerns and challenges parallel my own so closely, it amazes me.  God used this experience to tell me that there is someone else who faces the same challenges, pain and puzzlement in the behavior of others. We also share a feeling of exile sometimes. With folks who profess the same beliefs!
     I cannot speak to that, but I do know that the Lord has a plan.  The plan is for us to seek Him, pray to Him,  and that He will see us through.
     The travel kindnesses brought this to the fore.  Kindness anywhere is the voice of God, using some all the instruments in the band, even the squeaky ones, the ones in ill repair, and the brand new, out-of-the-box ones, to make the music of praise. Music for the journey, music for the welcome home.
 
My Shepherd Will Supply My Need
 
Lord, hear my heart’s cry.  Bind up the wounds of the broken hearted faithful, the squeaky instruments, the directors of music, their accompaniests, that your message shines through the text and tones. Let us honor you in word and deed, and live to see your plans.
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

