Ouch!

We resent an injury from a friend more than from an enemy.

      ~ Sophocles

 
This is how God showed his love for us: God sent his only Son into the world so we might live through him. This is the kind of love we are talking about—not that we once upon a time loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as a sacrifice to clear away our sins and the damage they’ve done to our relationship with God.
     ~ 1 John 4:9
 
     It was obvious we had a difference of opinion.  I stated my case in a normal conversational tone.  What she asked was irrational, monumental and unnecessary.  Then the tirade began. Talk about feeling as if I was standing naked in front of the entire world!  Could I really be hearing what I was hearing?She walked out of the room, and I burst into tears.  This was so uncalled for.
     For one of the first times in my life I went after her.  She told me she didn’t have time.  I told her I just needed to say one thing.  She told me she really didn’t have time.  And then what came out of my mouth astonished even me.  “Well then, you need to make the time. Right now.” Even tones, no hands on my hips, just matter-of-fact-ly.  And she stopped and listened.  
     I told her how I felt and what her words had tried to do.  And she did something that surprised me…she apologized.  This prickly, gifted, outspoken person apologized.  And that moment bettered the relationship and strengthened my resolve to not hold on to a hurt, but to take care of it right away if I could.
     I still approach this person with caution, but, as I see her every day, I see something else that is emerging.  After this hurt, I began to pray for her because she drives me crazy, and is a brilliant person and I should be able to get along with her as I see her regularly.  And as often happens, God changed me.  But just lately I see evidence that her heart is softening, becoming more kind, maturing.
     Don’t give up on a person even if they have wounded you.  Lift them up to the Lord.  If you cannot do that, pray for the strength to lift them up to the Lord.  I am sure that some of my words make their mark in ways that I will never know and that someone is out there praying for me because I drive them crazy.If that is the case, thank you for praying for me.  It is working.
Today, lift up your co-workers, your leisure pals, your family.  Watch God work wonders.
Lord, thank you for your constant ear, your purposeful touch, your startling examples of love and mercy.  Help me to be your instrument of peace with my mouth, my walk, my hurts, my joys.
     Because of Him,
Linda
     
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

