Prayer and Your Complexion

Prayer does not change God, but it changes him who prays. 
 
     ~ Søren Kierkegaard
 
“But he knows where I am and what I’ve done.
    He can cross-examine me all he wants, and I’ll pass the test
        with honors.
I’ve followed him closely, my feet in his footprints,
    not once swerving from his way.
I’ve obeyed every word he’s spoken,
    and not just obeyed his advice—I’ve treasured it.
  ~ Job 23:10-12
 
     The faces of those who pray have a sheen that could only be God-applied.  Like a fine make-up that claims to enhance the faces of everyone who uses it, prayer actually does.  It is a light that shines from the eyes, communicates across time, space, a room.
     Praise, petition, penitent, all these prayers add up and add to the peaceful glow that many saints exhibit.  Even curmudgeons speak and look more gently in prayer.
    Today, as a careless “Oh My God!” escapes your lips, follow it.  Follow it with a “Thank you God,” or even a “Praise you God” or two or three. The Psalms are full of them, and Job’s words seem like a prelude to prayer.
   It’s good for those you pray for, and will do wonders for your complexion!
Prayer Changes Things
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

