Great is Thy Faithfulness

Sometimes, to pursue a new idea, the artist must forfeit his deposit on an old idea. 
 
     ~Robert Brault
 
Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts: And see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.
 
 ~ Psalm 139:23-24 KJV
 
Great is Thy Faithfulness
 
     Yesterday the sermon was about Forgiveness.  I can tell you that the sermon was a good one, that the scripture had to do with the prodigal son.  I heard all the points of view and that this story is one of the most preached upon parables in the Bible.  
     I was letting that all sink in when Pastor Rachel called our attention to the assurance of pardon which she always accents with water from the baptismal font. I have heard her say it dozens of times, and I love the water, but yesterday, for the first time, I heard the message in the assurance of pardon.  
     I forgave myself for something that was weighing heavy on my mind in the past couple of weeks. All of a sudden all the rest clicked into place and I heard the whole service in a new light.  I am still hearing it.  The anthem we sang was the one above in the YouTube video (and we sounded just like that Tim!  Thank you Marge! )
    Truly, the God we serve is faithful and true, and holds us in the palm of his hand and loves us through the hard times and the good.
     You are a new creature in Christ today and from here forward. Whether you are the one who stayed home, the one who left, or the parent who rejoices in the return of the prodigal, always having loved the one who stayed home.  Because God is faithful.
 
     Oh Lord, help me to see the new mercies you gift us with every day, the safe travel, the averted emergency, the opportunity to minister to others, the gift of forgiving myself, and the wrongs done by me and to me.  Thank you for the gift of new vision and a day in which to see Your hand once more.
 
     Because of Him,
     Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

