Stick-to-it-tiveness

To be nobody but yourself in a world which is doing its best, night and day, to make you everybody else means to fight the hardest battle which any human being can fight; and never stop fighting. 
                                                            ~ e.e. cummings, 1955
 
Anyone who meets a testing challenge head-on and manages to stick it out is mighty fortunate. For such persons loyally in love with God, the reward is life and more life.
                                                             ~ James 1:12
 
  • All the time.  I was the youngest in kindergarten in public school.  
  •   Left public school and was a new kid in parochial school.
  •   Moved in 5th grade and was the new kid in a new parochial school.
  •   Moved “home” in 8th grade and was the old “new kid” and my                                                              friends had all re-distributed.
  •   Best friend in neighborhood…wasn’t.
  •   Best friend in college died  within one year of our meeting,and went home, after calling me the                                        night before about how peaceful she felt.
  •    Married a man I had met as a 12 year old (I was 20 then) and that ended in violence that I survived.
  •    Now all my contemporaries were having kids, and I was sing and mostly not a part of their lives.
  •   Got my first professional job, made two amazing friends.  One retired and moved, the other changed buildings.  We are still friends, but it was not the same.
  •   Met the love of my life and was ostracized by my then pastor.
  •    Married the love of my life, made new friends in his church.
  •    Got pregnant with/around the same time as new church friends. Perfect group.
  •   Group disbanded when one couple moved, the other couple left the church.
  • Those who remained were in their own groups, and I was “younger.”
  •  It seemed everything I was a part of, was constantly dissolving  in front of or around me. 
                         Except :Jesus.  
                         Except the love of God
                         Except the choir where I am accepted with the gifts I have, and                                                                                               the flaws and the tears and all that comes with it.
                         Except those friends who are geographically distant but                                                                                                      constant as the sun.
God has stuck with me, and I want to be ready for whatever all these hellos and goodbyes have meant to His purpose. And my life is a breeze compared to so many of yours!  God is with you, and with your Spirit right now.  Stand in His light and lift your hearts and say thank you.
 
All I Can Do is Say Thank You- Mike’s Chair
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

