The Right Road

No one ever won a chess game by betting on each move. Sometimes you have to move backward to get a step forward. 
                                                 ~Amar Gopal Bose
 
My sheep recognize my voice. I know them, and they follow me. I give them real and eternal life. They are protected from the Destroyer for good. No one can steal them from out of my hand. The Father who put them under my care is so much greater than the Destroyer and Thief. No one could ever get them away from him. I and the Father are one heart and mind.”
                                                  ~ John 10:28-30
 
     It is such a hard concept to grasp that we win because of Jesus. We win, we won, because He already has us in His hand.  The daily games that we must enter are often just that, the carpool game, the on-time game, the play-date game, the let’s do something different game.  Ultimately, they all add up to a win.  
     The challenges are great, often larger than our scope and yet sometimes with the perspective a year, a decade-maybe more, we can see the hand of God working in our lives.  The heart throbs we did not marry, the “friends” who passed us by, or worse used us first and moved on.
     Keeping our eye on the horizon helps with seasickness, and also helps with life.  It helps us to feel the balance.  Stay focused, stay calm.   This school year is the most disjointed year I think I have ever seen in my career.  It is nearly over, and it feels as if it never really started.  Yet I see progress in my self, in my students, in my colleagues, in many of the folks I interact with day by day.
     So if you are in the position of feeling like you took two steps back.  Sit for a minute.  Have a cup of something warm and enjoy the view before you get back up.  You are truly on the right road.  Because it leads to Him.
 
Help Me Find It
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

