He’s Making Diamonds

It’s easy to make a buck.  It’s a lot tougher to make a difference.  

                                                                  ~Tom Brokaw
 
Make a clean break with all cutting, backbiting, profane talk. Be gentle with one another, sensitive. Forgive one another as quickly and thoroughly as God in Christ forgave you.
                                                                  ~ Ephesians 4:31-32
 
     I used Eugene Peterson’s The Message for today’s Bible reading.  I love the articulation of the scripture.  He really spells out what I have to use as my goal.  Clean break.  With ALL that verbiage.  Gentility, sensitivity.  Those went down like honey.  And then I got to as quickly as God in Christ forgave you.  Choke.
     Even when the repeat offender…er…repeats?  Even if they have publicly humiliated you?  I could handle the goal of forgiveness, but
as quickly? 
     That feels as if it requires a laser.  A laser beam that burns out the hurt, the pride, the want for retaliation.  But I know how it feels to be the forgiven one.  I know how it made a difference in my life and my heart.  I know it did not give me permission to hurt again, but, a warning sign does pop up in my heart and head when the temptation is near.
     So, I have a new goal. Christ forgave me.  I have even forgiven me.
Now it is time to pay that gift forward.  
     Thank you to those who gave me some advice about my “tough person.” yesterday.  It truly made a difference. He’s making diamonds out of dust.
Hawk Nelson
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

