Glorious New Steps

So often in life a new chapter awaits. You ride off into the sunset and discover it’s the sunrise. 
                                                                             ~ Robert Brault
 
Charm can mislead and beauty soon fades.
    The woman to be admired and praised
    is the woman who lives in the Fear-of-God.
                                                                            ~ Proverbs 31:30
 
      I got a new perspective this week.  A fellow juror was trained in St. Cecilia’s Hospital many years ago.  The clientele at that time were the more unfortunate, the criminal.  She had to learn to separate her home life from her work life because of the level of gruesome she encountered every day at work.  
     She shared this with me after a particularly awful case we deliberated over.  She had me look at my own work, which is so much different on the surface than her own, and reminded me that sometimes I had to separate from the job in order to get it done.
     Sometimes we are dissuaded from doing what the Lord would have us do because of charm, distracting “fun.”  We linger outside of obedience, meaning to “get around to it.” And by we, I mean me.  I know that I must drop the distraction and move on, look past the charm and see what lies there in intent.
     Today, I will take each little chunk, focus and move ahead into glorious new steps.  Wanna come?
 
Steven Curtis Chapman
 
     Because of Him,
     Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

