What I know about Arizona

Almost everyone in the world knows something about Arizona, and some of it is even true.
         ~ Jim Turner
 

Have you ever come on anything quite like this extravagant generosity of God, this deep, deep wisdom? It’s way over our heads. We’ll never figure it out.

Is there anyone around who can explain God?
Anyone smart enough to tell him what to do?
Anyone who has done him such a huge favor
    that God has to ask his advice?
Everything comes from him;
Everything happens through him;
Everything ends up in him.
Always glory! Always praise!
    Yes. Yes. Yes.

~ Romans 11:33-36 (The Message)

     The first time I went to Arizona, I thought it was red.  It is all I remembered. Red desert, red mountains. Red.   The next time I went, I was in for a shock.  There was much more desert, and this big canyon.  Then I went again – pine forest!  A place where actor John Wayne shot a movie or two!  And then, a lake!  

     Each time I returned to Arizona, I learned a new thing, saw a new thing, got a different perspective.  I did not know there was a Saguaro Forest.  I thought it was just a bunch of cacti.  The best thing about Arizona are the people that I love who live in that diverse land.

    The same is true of Jesus Christ.  Everyone knows something about Jesus.  And some of it is true.  I met him in a significant way on a trip through the desert to the mountains in 1971.  A friend led me to Him, and He has never left my side, though I have sometimes strayed from His.

    Today, my prayer for all of us, is to discover something new about Jesus.  Something old.  Some new way in which something we thought we knew becomes real.  This much, however, has not changed: Jesus loves you.  So very much.  Jesus loves you to the marrow and cell, to heaven and back, on your best day, on your worst day, and all between.

      Praise you Jesus!

      Because of Him,

      Linda

Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

