He Was There All the Time

We are so accustomed to disguise ourselves to others that in the end we become disguised to ourselves. 
 
     ~ François VI de la Rochefoucault
 
 
2 I saw Holy Jerusalem, new-created, descending resplendent out of Heaven, as ready for God as a bride for her husband.
 
3-5 I heard a voice thunder from the Throne: “Look! Look! God has moved into the neighborhood, making his home with men and women! They’re his people, he’s their God. He’ll wipe every tear from their eyes. Death is gone for good—tears gone, crying gone, pain gone—all the first order of things gone.” The Enthroned continued, “Look! I’m making everything new. Write it all down—each word dependable and accurate.”
 
   ~ Revelation 21:2-5
 
     Have you ever taken on a different version of yourself?  Same insides, but adaptable outsides that went beyond the norm for fitting in?  Changed your mode of dress, your way of speaking, perhaps even your friends?
     I can remember sitting in a college computer room when IBM cards were used to feed data into the computers.  A class I was in was assigned to take a personality test at the computers.  I was trying to fit in, be cool, popular whatever.  Sitting next to me was a guy I knew from classes.  I read a question out loud to myself and couldn’t decide what answer best suited me.  Wayne leaned over, pointed to the answer that my true self would have given, and leaned back. He never said a word, but he certainly set me strait.  It was one of those times when I truly began to appreciate the introverts in my life. 
     Wayne had been watching, listening, getting to know me- nearly without my noticing. Wayne went on to become an elementary school teacher, a trustee of his church, a good all around citizen before he passed away.  In his wake he left loved students who knew the value of this keen observer.  He was a key in the beginning of me understanding just how to leave “cool” behind and just be me.
     Now imagine that Wayne was God’s representative in the neighborhood…the neighborhood where God had such an influence that the neighbors shone with God’s truth, God’s light, God’s peace.  I am so blessed to live in a neighborhood that has the tread of God in the very soil. So many believers clustered together, loving each other in the busy trails of the day.
     Yep, masks fell here so long ago, where the apple farmer of Orchard Farms walked this small land and prayed for its future.
Today, walk your yard, your neighborhood and pray as you pass each residence, each building, each place of business.  Watch God work.
 
He Was There All the Time
 
     Because of Him,
     Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Devotional, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

