The Solace of Your Wings

One earnest worker can do more by personal suggestion to prevent accidents than a carload of safety signs. 
                                     ~Making Paper, January 1923, edited by E.R. Brown
 
You who sit down in the High God’s presence,
spend the night in Shaddai’s shadow,
Say this: “God, you’re my refuge.
I trust in you and I’m safe!”
~ Psalm 91:1
In the Shadow of Your Wings
 
     It’s all I can hear.  The sound of our choir praying this anthem back to the Lord.  After making it through a tough week filled with so many mistakes, misspoken thoughts, offences against the very goals we set for ourselves.  The very week just felt so warm from the weariness of working, the toil of much time in a close space with people all going in different directions, just trying to get the work done, all this and feeling as if we were in the hot sun all day.
    Then the blessed shade of God’s wing.  Coolness of brow, closeness of relief, the love of God. 
     Revival in the most basic sense.  When I saw this scripture this morning, I heard this anthem and longed for the shade of the wings of God.  I don’t have to try and find it, I just need to give the toil, the labor, the joy, the concern to God.  God knows right where I am, and just when to open His wings o’er me, and you.
     Because of Him,
     Linda
 
PS – So thankful for our choir director and former organist who taught us this anthem.  It blesses me always.
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

