Teach me Lord, to wait.

There are two kinds of light — the glow that illumines, and the glare that obscures 

                                                             ~ James Thurber

 
Why would you ever complain, O Jacob,
    or, whine, Israel, saying,
God has lost track of me.

    He doesn’t care what happens to me”?
Don’t you know anything? Haven’t you been listening?
God doesn’t come and go. God lasts.
    He’s Creator of all you can see or imagine.
He doesn’t get tired out, doesn’t pause to catch his breath.
    And he knows everything, inside and out.
He energizes those who get tired,
    gives fresh strength to dropouts.
For even young people tire and drop out,
    young folk in their prime stumble and fall.
But those who wait upon God get fresh strength.
    They spread their wings and soar like eagles,
They run and don’t get tired,
    they walk and don’t lag behind.
                                                      ~ Isaiah 4-:27-31
 
     I walk our little dog nearly every day after school.  Depending on which direction I am walking, I can see who is driving toward me, and identify my neighbors often by their car alone.  But there has recently been a turnover in neighbors, and they all drive cars that are not so familiar to me.  
     Sometimes, as I walk into the light, the glare obscures just who is inside.  I know the car belongs to a friend or neighbor, but I cannot always see exactly who is inside. But I wave.
     And so it is with life.  We approach vehicles of flesh every day.  We can often identify their walk, or hear their voice before we see them.  We recognize a signature color, but we cannot see inside, where a scared child of God may reside.
     This is for my friend Emily. 
      I am waving.
 
They That Wait – Gaithers
 
Because of Him,
Linda
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

