Does it serve the work?

The dream begins with a teacher who believes in you, who tugs and pushes and leads you to the next plateau, sometimes poking you with a sharp stick called “truth.” 
                                                          ~Dan Rather
 

Therefore if you have any encouragement from being united with Christ, if any comfort from his love, if any common sharing in the Spirit, if any tenderness and compassion, then make my joy complete by being like-minded, having the same love, being one in spirit and of one mind.

                                                          ~Philippians 2:1-2 NIV

 
     I had that teacher.  In my least adventure into school, I had to interview to be accepted into the program.  The woman I met was polished, gracious and accepting.  I got accepted into the program.
Previously, I had believed that if I just polished up 60 of my best poems, handed them in as new and graduated, I’d be magically published!  Then there was that rude awakening.
     All the while I asked questions, often talked too much, proceeded forth through the sometimes grueling experience.  I learned that God is anywhere I bring Him.  I learned to appreciate something about everyone’s work, even if I did not necessarily like it.  I learned to study the way a book was put together.  I graduated.
      My fears, my joys, my concerns were all addressed by this amazing woman, and a couple of other staff members.  She told me the truth, applauded from the sides and gave me permission to do what I needed to do.
     I carry her with me every day because not only did she speak the truth, she spoke the truth in love.  The likemindedness in college had to do with using  the same set of measurements to look at each work, regardless.  And it had to do with truth, which also has to do with asking the same question of myself each time I write.  
    “Should I use this?  Should I do that?”
 
     All the time, I can hear her saying, “Does it serve the work of the poem?” 
     To take it to one more place, before you walk into a room and question what you are to say, “Does it serve the work of the Lord?  Truth.
     (Ouch!)
     Because of Him,
     Linda
 
PS. My first book is published! 
God is so good!
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Original Writing, Devotional, Inspirational, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

